Rad Reading – March

This Month I read the book, Tell me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum. Jessie Holmes moves from Chicago to Los Angeles with her father, stepmom, and stepbrother. She is welcomed into the new school from a student by the name of Somebody Nobody. Throughout the book, Jessie works to find out who would be stalking her as she goes to school. Jessie also experiences the different types of relationships other students have with her.

I really recommend this book because it shows the different struggles each character has. It has been around two years ever since Jessie’s mother had passed. Yet she has no choice but to move to California. She has to experience having a whole different lifestyle. When Jessie starts to make friends, she soon understands everyone’s real sides and how different they are at school compared to how they actually are.

My favorite character throughout the book is Scarlett, Jessie’s best friend back in Chicago. Scarlett still messages Jessie almost everyday, yet they live thousands of miles away from each other. But no matter what, Scarlett still protects Jessie from whoever messes with her. One quote to support this is when Jessie comes to Scarlett for help. On page 30 Scarlett states, “Just because you’re strong doesn’t mean you shouldn’t ask for help sometimes. Remember that. I’m here, ALWAYS, but you might want to take up that offer from someone local.” This shows that no matter how many miles or states they are apart from each other, Scarlett still has Jessie’s back.

My favorite quote throughout the book is when Jessie explains her relationship with her mother before she died. On page 70 Jessie explains, “But I didn’t love my mom just because she was my mother. I loved my mom because she was cool and interesting and warm and listened to me and continued to make pancakes in the shape of my initials.” This quote shows that Jessie genuinely loved her mother and had a very special relationship. She loved her mother because of who she was, not just because she is the one who raised her. Even though her mom isn’t with her, she still counts the days she’s gone and thinks about her every day. Just because her mom has passed doesn’t make Jessie love her any less.

One thought on “Rad Reading – March

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *